Puerto Rico

The Free State of Puerto Rico is one of the American outlying areas, an associated island state in the Caribbean, consisting of the island of Puerto Rico and the smaller side islands Vieques, Culebra, Culebrita, Palomino, Mona and Monito. Puerto Rico is the easternmost and smallest island in the Greater Antilles. Puerto Rico means “rich harbor”.

By Christopher Columbus Puerto Rico was discovered on his second trip in 1493. As a result, Puerto Rico became part of the Spanish dominion. Fifteen years later, colonization began under Juan Ponce de León. This led to the extermination of the local Indians. After that black slaves were introduced for work. Slavery was officially abolished in 1873. A year later, the Americans annexed Puerto Rico as a result of the Spanish-American War. With the passage of the Jones Actim 1917 Puerto Rico is again granted the internal self-government. 1952 receives the island the status Dominion Estado Libre y Asociado de Puerto Rico (English Commonwealth of Puerto Rico).

Satellite image with zoom: Read travel reportReading a tour Puerto Rico – Map
The island has a subtropical climate throughout the year with average temperatures of around 28 ° C. The most frequent rains are on the north coast and in the highlands. It is relatively dry in the south of the island. The island is mountainous with rainforests, has deserts and beautiful long white sand beaches. More than 80% of the 4 million Puerto Ricans are Catholic. Although the island belongs to the US, only about 10% call themselves Americans. 87% of Ricans consider themselves descendants of Spaniards or descendants of African slaves. Spanish is spoken by over 93% of the population as a first language, The universities usually teach only in English. Agricultural products include sugar cane, bananas, coffee, pineapple and tobacco. Another branch of activity is fishing. In addition, there are still such industries as the food, textile, cement industry and mechanical engineering. One of the other main economic sectors is tourism.

Pictures Puerto Rico

Questions about the destination Puerto Rico?

America Forum

Puerto Rico

Der Freistaat Puerto Rico ist eines der amerikanischen Außengebiete, ein mit den USA assoziierter Inselstaat in der Karibik, bestehend aus der Insel Puerto Rico und den kleineren Nebeninseln Vieques, Culebra, Culebrita, Palomino, Mona und Monito. Puerto Rico ist die östlichste und kleinste Insel der Großen Antillen. Puerto Rico bedeutet „reicher Hafen“.

Von Christoph Kolumbus wurde Puerto Rico auf seiner zweiten Reise 1493 entdeckt. Daraufhin wurde Puerto Rico Teil des spanischen Herrschaftsgebiets. Fünfzehn Jahre später begann die Kolonisation unter Juan Ponce de León. Diese führte zur Ausrottung der ortsansässigen Indianer. Danach wurden schwarze Sklaven für die Arbeit eingeführt. Die Sklaverei wude im Jahr 1873 offiziell abgeschafft. Ein Jahr später annektierten die Amerikaner als Folge des spanisch-amerikanischen Krieges Puerto Rico. Mit der Verabschiedung des Jones Actim Jahr 1917 wird Puerto Rico erneut die innere Selbstverwaltung zugestanden. 1952 erhält die Insel den Status Dominion Estado Libre y Asociado de Puerto Rico (engl. Commonwealth of Puerto Rico).

Satellitenbild mit Zoom: Reisebericht lesenReisebericht lesen Puerto Rico – Map
Die Insel hat während des ganzen Jahres subtropisches Klima mit Durchschnittstemperaturen von etwa 28 °C. Dabei sind an der Nordküste und im Hochland die häufigsten Regenfälle zu verzeichnen. Im Süden der Insel ist es dabei relativ trocken. Die Insel ist gebirgig mit Regenwäldern, weist Wüsten auf und hat wunderschöne lange weisse Sand-Strände. Mehr als 80 % der 4 Mio. Puerto Ricaner sind katholisch. Obwohl die Insel zu den USA gehört bezeichnen sich nur etwa 10 % als Amerikaner. 87 % der Ricaner sehen sich als Nachkommen der Spanier oder als Nachkommen afrikanischer Sklaven. Spanisch wird von über 93 % der Bevölkerung als Erstsprache gesprochen, Die Universitäten lehren meist nur in englischer Sprache. Landwirtschaftliche Produkte sind Zuckerrohr, Bananen, Kaffee, Ananas und Tabak. Ein weitrer Erwerbszweig ist der Fischfang. Daneben gibt es noch solche Industriezweige wie die Nahrungsmittel-, Textil-, Zementindustrie und der Maschinenbau. Eine der weiterer wichtigsten Wirtschaftszweige ist der Tourismus.

Bilder Puerto Rico

Fragen zum Reiseziel Puerto Rico?

Amerika Forum