Dominican Republic – General information

The Dominican Republic (Spanish: República Dominicana) is an island nation located on the island of Hispaniola, east of Haiti, between the Atlantic and the Caribbean.

Official language:

Santo Domingo

48,730 km²

9 million

Population density:
181 inhabitants per km²

Dominican peso

Time zone:
UTC -4

Phone code:

The largest cities are the capital Santo Domingo (2,023,029 inhabitants) in the south and Santiago de los Caballeros in the interior (555,904 inhabitants). Other cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants are La Romana and San Pedro de Macorís in the south, La Vega inland and Puerto Plata in the north.

The national language is Spanish. In the Dominican Republic live about 159,000 people (Haitian or Haitian descent), the Haitian Creole speak. In the northeast of the country lives in the city of Samana an English-speaking minority of about 8,000 people. These are descendants of former US slaves who settled here in 1824.

Christians, mostly Catholics (80%), then Protestant free churches and sects.

Presidential republic. Constitution of 1966 (change 1994). Compulsory from 18 years. Two-Chamber Parliament (“Congreso Nacional”): Chamber of Deputies (“Cámara de Diputados”) with 149 members, Senate (“Senado”) with 32 members. Elect every 4 years. Direct election of head of state every 4 years Parties: Partido Revolucionario Dominicano (PRD), Partido de la Liberación Dominicana (PLD), Partido Reformista Social Cristiano (PRSC).

Dominican Republic – Climate

The climate on the coast of the Dominican Republic is tropical with high humidity.

Even in winter, temperatures below 15 degrees Celsius are never measured.

The average temperature is 27 ° C.

The cathedral. Rep. Is within the scope of tropical cyclones (hurricanes).

It is a bit cooler in the mountains.

In the mountains of the Cordillera Central, about in the 1,400 m above sea level located city Constanza in winter, temperatures below freezing are possible.

Questions about the destination Dominican Republic?